A candle loses nothing by lighting another candle. -Author Unknown

20140503-201723.jpg

As a new naturalista, I have been attending the World Natural Hair, Health, and Beauty Show (WNHS) since 2011. As a matter of fact, that was my FIRST natural hair event. Needless to say, I was OVERWHELMED by all of the vendors, attendees, entertainers, etc. Since then, I have learned how to navigate that weekend.
     On Friday, I went to Celebrity Stylist April B for a coiled updo. She replicated one of her hairstyles that was featured in Ebony Magazine. In true April style, she customized the style for me by adding color and more. She is truly a #naturalhairslayer.  I received so many compliments on my hair and had people taking pics of my ‘do.  I passed out April’s cards within an hour of getting to the show.
     On Saturday, I was anxious like the 1st day of school. The WNHS is like a family reunion for naturalistas. My first stop was at SheaMoisture’s booth for their new cosmetics line. I received a mini makeover and bought their new lip crayon for my sister and me. They sold out of the color I wanted within the first hour of the show. Next stop was Obia Natural’s booth. She and her brother were working hard. They even had their dad passing out cards…LOL!!! They definitely keep it in the family. After a few quick poses, I bought some hair goodies from Obia. Ms. Felicia Leatherwood was at the Beautiful Textures booth. It is always a pleasure to see her. I also found out that Chrisette Michelle would be at the booth on Sunday. Can you say, EXCITED?!?! My friend, Stephanie from a Gulf Coast Naturals came to the show and we walked around and supported some of our meetup sponsors. I also got a chance to hang out with my sis, Naturalbabydol1.
      Later that night was the Koils by Nature 90s Party. Ms. Pam did a wonderful job. We danced all night!!! There was no “turning up;” we got CRUNK!!! The winner of Miss Naturally Crowned Carolina, the runner up, and one of the pageant organizers also attended the 90s party (Chanelle, Iman, and Jessica).  All of the VIPs received a bag from Healthy Hair Dimensions, including a full-sized item from Koils by Nature.
     On Sunday, I attended the Natural Hair Freedom Brunch. I had a great time mingling with other naturalistas and fellow meetup organizers. The ladies from the pageant, including Maureen also attended the brunch. I met some amazing vendors and am looking forward to working with them in the near future.  The VIPs received a bonus swag bag that included 3 full-sized items from MainElement: Love.   

     Lastly, I went back to the WNHS to see Chrisette Michelle. I was able to get her autograph AND take a picture with her. She also sang her hit song, “Couple of Forevers.’ Seeing her was an awesome way to end the weekend.

For more pictures, make sure to follow @nwunited on Instagram. We have sponsored several giveaways, including Quench SC’s, “Mane of the Month.” Remember, a candle loses nothing by lighting another candle.

-Alisha Carolina Girl

Comments on: "The World Natural Hair Show Weekend" (2)

  1. celeste said:

    I’m going with you next year! I still can’t navigate my weekend! #help what’s the next event you have on your agenda?

Leave a Reply

NaturalWomenUnited

A candle loses nothing by lighting another candle. -Author Unknown

GoldenLadyP

Curvy Natural Mompreneur

Africa Fashion Week LowCountry (AFWLC)

Home of the First Africa Fashion Week in the LowCountry of Beaufort SC

Divas With A Purpose

Driven, Inspiring, Victorious & called to Action

Well Designed Lifestyle

Designing a Life of Happiness & Fulfillment

